Skip to content

First Bow or riser?

This forum is dedicated to the bowyer and his craft. This is the place to talk building techninques, design/theory, and anything about enhancing performance. Anything about bow building is welcome here. All build alongs will be housed in the sub-forum below.

First Bow or riser?

Postby Passingthrough » Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:33 pm

Hey guys,

I am new to traditional archery. I have been shooting an ilf setup (21" excel riser with BMax limbs) for two years now. Hunted with it last season and was lucky enough to shoot a small buck and a doe.

Anyway enough with the intro. I have been wanting to build a bow ever since I started shooting traditional. I have read through most all build alongs on leather wall, here, and a few other sites. I have been considering building a bingham's bow for some time. However, I have not had very much experience with woodworking. I saw a few of the ilf build alongs here and considered that might be a better option to get my feet wet since I have a couple of pairs of ilf limbs laying around.

My brother in law would help me along this process and he has a good bit of wood working experience and did some cabinet work along time ago.

So I would like to know from you more experienced guys would you go with the binghams kit or an ilf riser build for a first time bow project and why?

Thank you guys...Know that which ever you recommend I will be asking tons of questions along the way...lol.
Passingthrough

Re: First Bow or riser?

Postby Crooked Stic » Sat Mar 22, 2014 6:08 pm

Go with the Bingham stuff. The ILF takes a lot more precise machining .
Prez of the Crooked Stic Gang
Crooked Stic

Postby Passingthrough » Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:37 am

Thanks a lot Crooked Stic. I have been looking at Bingham's Takedown Recurve, td longbow, and pronounced longbow.