Skip to content

Raw Wood lamination?

This forum is dedicated to the bowyer and his craft. This is the place to talk building techninques, design/theory, and anything about enhancing performance. Anything about bow building is welcome here. All build alongs will be housed in the sub-forum below.

Raw Wood lamination?

Postby Tachyon » Wed Nov 06, 2013 6:41 am

Hello, I'm new to bow building, and to this forum too :)
Could anyone please tell me if I can get some raw wood (maple in this particular case), cut it into laminations while still raw, then make it dry for a month or less (2 milimeters in thickness should dry pretty fast).
Then, I guess the wood will be really deformed.
Can I heat it and slowly make it take its previous form? Will it damage the wood (of course if I heat too much...)? And will the wood have some internal tension in it after being cooled? Also, will it loose its mechanical properties?

Thanks in advance for your answer, and I apologize for my poor English.

BTW, to moderators: I'm absolutely not sure I'm posting in the right place, so please, move it if I made a mistake :)
With respect, Tachyon.
Tachyon

Re: Raw Wood lamination?

Postby Crooked Stic » Wed Nov 06, 2013 6:02 pm

I think you will be way better to let the wood dry on its own sawed 8/4 . It takes 8/4 osage maybe 10 months to air dry inside my shop. Don't know about maple.
Prez of the Crooked Stic Gang
Crooked Stic

Postby Tachyon » Wed Nov 06, 2013 6:36 pm

Thanks for the answer!
But the thing is that actually, letting it dry for a year (maple is dense) is well... long.
I want to accelerate the procedure not because I'm so impatient, but because it's cheaper than in a store (the maple is from my garden). So if I wait so long... it's really easier to buy it directly.

Also, I'm just loving all sorts of experiments.
With respect, Tachyon.
Tachyon

Postby Iktomi » Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:25 am