Skip to content

Gap Is Crap

A place to discuss shooting styles, form, aiming systems, experiences, etc...

Gap Is Crap

Postby Rico » Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:49 pm

Okay we have pretty much exhausted the Instincitve. Lets hear from the gap shooters.
Why not just put a damn sight on there and be done with it. I mean at least one pin come on just get it over with and do it. :?
Whats your point on? When and why did gap shooting start? :?: ;)
"If you have to defend your archery tackle as being Traditional it probably isn't" Fred Bear
Rico

Re: Gap Is Crap

Postby cst » Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:13 pm

Gap is crap huh? ok. Point on varies for me with the bow/arrow/string combination. I started shooting with an aiming system because to not aim is dumb. I started one year ago. :D
I don't want to hear a bunch about instinctive we had that on the other thread. I meant what I said. If you feel like you aim good for you. If you don't aim in my opinion you should not handle a weapon.
cst

Postby PAarcher » Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:33 am

I was taught to gap shoot when I first started shooting these bows a few years ago. Mike Fedora taught me.
I have been struggling with it because I like to switch bows now and again and each bow shoots differently.
I have really been bearing down lately and trying my hardest to pour my concentration on the target. That has been helping my accuracy a great deal but I am still aware of the tip of my arrow. I think I am begining to develope a hybrid between instinctive and gap. We'll see how it bears out on 3d and field shoots.
I can't not be aware of my arrow. I have a high anchor and it is right in my line of sight. If you don't think gap shooting is effective watch Rod Jenkins shoot.
PAarcher

Postby Rico » Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:22 am

I think that gap can is very effective just doesn't work for me when it comes to shooting at a deer.
I would think it would be more effective to put at least one pin on your bow. Yes,NO ,Maybe