Skip to content

My R&D build up for WTT3

This forum is dedicated to exchanging information for the Walk the Talk event.

My R&D build up for WTT3

Postby jwillis » Thu Oct 16, 2008 8:15 am

The fun part of bow making for me is sharing ideas and photos (and especially seeing those of others), so I'm starting this thread to show my research and development process for the next Walk-the-Talk (WTT3). I have nothing to hide and everything to gain from your feedback, so like the naked archaeologist on the History Channel (one of my favorite shows...lol), I'm going to lay my bow making bare...I'm going to peal back the outer layers to show what I am thinking and testing as I tweak and peak my hybrid longbow design until, hopefully, it will be fast enough to live up to the name I have given it--"The Hammer." I named it that because once it is peaked and tweaked it will "hit like a hammer and drive em deep." :lol: If it isn't obvious by now, you should know that I work in marketing...lol. Ernie, for one, asked if I would do a SuperTiller build along. There may be some of that I can show during this process as well.

OK, so let's get started...
I took two longbows to WTT2 last year at Ken's. Both from my 64" hybrid form with 2" deflex and 4" reflex.

My son's bow was about 48#@28 and mine was about 53#@28. Both good shooters but they had overbuilt tips and 14-strand D97 strings with two extra strands in the loops plus cat whiskers. These bows both shot about 179 to 180 fps on Ken's machine with 10 gpp arrows.

Daniel drawing his bow...

My bow...